The « Institut de Chimie Physique » (Institute of Physical Chemistry) is a joint research unit of CNRS and Paris-Saclay University.

It gathers 85 permanent collaborators (60 researchers, professors and assistant professors, and 25 engineering and technical staff) which are split over 4 buildings in the Faculty of Sciences at Orsay Campus (349, 350, 201 in the Vallée and 602 on the Plateau).

Research Activities

The research activities are organised in 4 scientific groups:
CPSysBio : Physical-chemistry of biological systems
TEMiC : Electron transfers in condensed medium
CAPRI : Analytical chemistry, physical-chemistry and ion reactivity
TheoSim : Theory and Simulation

Scientific Facilities

Scientific facilities with unique features are available at ICP:
CLIO : Free-electron infrared laser in Orsay
ELYSE : Picosecond radiolysis
MUSIICS : Multiscale infrared imaging for complex systems
SMAS : National platform of mass spectrometry coupled to an IR laser
Engineering and technical staff is dedicated to these facilities and to other experiments. An instrumentation service (laser optics, mechanical design, electronics, instrument development) provides a range of skills, which are required to the development of scientific projects.

General Services

The general services cover the necessary support for a good operation of the Institute.
Logistique et maintenance

Direction Team

Since January 1st, 2020 and for 5 years, the direction team is composed of the director, Guillaume van der Rest, Marie Erard (deputy director), Israël Mbomékallé (deputy director), Wafa Zaied (secretary general) et Carine Clavaguéra (in charge of communication and of monitoring of the human resources and administration). The management team involves the direction team and the head of the scientific groups (Laura Baciou, Carine Clavaguéra, Christophe Humbert et Roland Thissen).

Councils and Committees

The direction team relies on several councils and committees such as:
• the laboratory council of ICP,
• the staff committee,
• the CLHSCT (Comité Local d’Hygiène, de Sécurité et des Conditions de Travail): local commission for health, safety and work conditions.
The direction team is advised by several “chargés de mission”, risk prevention staff and qualified experts in radioprotection.
The staff committee consists in the management team of the Institute and staff representatives (ITA/BIATOSS) elected to the laboratory council. The committee meets at least once per year to advise the direction team about the career advancements for ITA/BIATOSS.
The CLHSCT consists in the direction team, risk prevention staff, qualified experts in radioprotection, staff representatives from the laboratory council, medical officers and health and safety interlocutors from CNRS, Université Paris Saclay and Faculty of Sciences in Orsay.